Progress

DSC_8107I like to think I’ve come a long way since taking the above photo of Afro Bop Alliance.

In my defense, boy was that photoshoot a hot mess. We were shooting at the Kennedy Center in Washington, DC and had only a few minutes to grab some quick shots. I was hoping we could have used another side of the building where there was some nice backlighting coming in, but logistics prevented that. Instead, we were working on the shady side of the building which provided a lovely soft light with zero direction or interest.

Man, would that have been the perfect fill light on which to build some crafted directional light from a flash or two. Or four. Sigh… But this was before I knew anything about off-camera flash and so I did the best I could at the time.

DSC_8048That’s drummer and bandleader Joe McCarthy in the photo on the left. I’m sharing this because I’m going to be reshooting him soon for an Artist Profile on this blog. I, for one, can’t wait to see the difference in my photography since then. Hopefully the difference is for the best!

Anyway, Afro Bop Alliance is a modern fusion of bebop and Afro-Latin music made up of the best musicians here in DC. If you haven’t heard them yet, go check them out. They’ve even won a Latin Grammy. In fact, I keep waiting for Tim Stanley to need a sub so that I can play with them again! You can find out more about Joe and the band at the links below:

Joe McCarthy

Afro Bop Alliance Big Band feat. Roland Vazquez Kickstarter Campaign

Leave a Reply

